Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.

Check out UConn's travel plans

By Gavin Keefe

Publication: theday.com

Published November 06. 2012 5:00PM   Updated November 06. 2012 5:50PM

The UConn men’s basketball team is scheduled to board a flight tonight (Tuesday) in New York for Germany.

The trip should be a great experience for the Huskies.

They open the regular season Friday against Michigan State at Ramstein Air Base.

Basketball isn’t the only thing on their agenda.

Check out UConn’s tentative schedule this week:

Wednesday:

9:45 a.m. (Germany Time) -- Arrival Frankfort International Airport

11 a.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn Basketball Team Study Hall on Bus (5 a.m. EST)

1:00 p.m. (Germany Time) --Arrival at Ramstein Air Base (7:00 a.m. EST)

3:30 p.m. (Germany Time) -- Depart Hotel for Landstuhl Wounded Warrior Hospital (9:30 a.m. EST)

3:30 p.m. (Germany Time)—30-Minute Bus Trip to Landstuhl Hospital (9:30-10:00 a.m. EST)

4:00 p.m. (Germany Time) — Coach and Two Players at Landstuhl Hospital. Other players and coaches at USO Center for wounded warriors interaction (10:00 EST)

5:30 p.m. (Germany Time) — 30-minute bus trip back to Ramstein Air Base (11:30 a.m. EST)

6:00 p.m. (Germany Time) -- Air Force Wounded Warrior Center Visit-30 Minutes-On Base

8:00-10:00 p.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn Practice/Base Fitness Center (2:00-4:00 p.m. EST)

10:30 p.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn Travel Party Dinner (4:30 p.m. EST) 

Thursday:

11:30 a.m. (Germany Time) -- C-130 Flight, Max 30 People (5:30 a.m. EST)

1:30-3:30 p.m.  (Germany Time) -- UConn Basketball team study hall (7:30-9:30 a.m. EST)

7:00 p.m. (Germany Time) -- Kids Clinic with 100 Children From Base (1:00 p.m. EST)

8:00-10:00 p.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn Practice/FitnessCenter, open practice (2:00-4:00 p.m. EST)

8:30 p.m. (Germany Time) — Hangar 5 (game court) Walk thru With ESPN

Friday:

11:00 a.m. (Germany Time) — Hangar 1-Appreciation Day, Team meet With Airmen/Women (5:00 a.m. EST)

2:30-3:30 p.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn practice on game court—(8:30-9:30 a.m. EST)

4:30-6:30 p.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn Basketball team study hall (10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EST)

6:00-8:00 p.m. (Germany Time) -- VIP Function at Officer’s Club(12:00-2:00 p.m. EST)

12 midnight (Germany Time) -- UConn vs.Michigan St., Armed Forces Classic (6:00 p.m. EST)

Saturday:

8:45 a.m. (Germany Time) -- UConn travel party depart Ramstein Air Base (2:45 a.m. EST)

10:30 a.m. (Germany Time) -- Arrive Frankfort International Airport (4:30 a.m. EST)

1:45 p.m. (Germany Time) -- Depart Frankfort International Airport(7:45 a.m. EST). Flight Time, 9 Hours, 5 Minutes

4:50 p.m. (EST) -- Arrive JFK Airport, New York

6:00-6:30 p.m. (EST) -- Buses depart Kennedy Airport for Storrs

9:00-9:30 p.m. (EST) -- Arrive UConn campus, Storrs

 

DAY BLOGROLL

News

Day Photo Staff | On Assignment

David Collins | Today, in The Day

Karen Florin | On The Docket

Rufus Giuseppe | The Dog Dishes

Editors' Blog

Opinion

Paul Choiniere | Ruminations

Arts & Entertainment

Day staff | Taste Buds (Dining)

Day staff | The Sipping Room (Drinks)

Jenna Cho | Salt to Taste

Jill Blanchette | Healthy Cooking

Kristina Dorsey | Reel Life

Marisa Nadolny | Pop Blog

Rick Koster | Aging Rock Dude

Rick Koster | Librarian to The Stars / Books Blog

Sunday Night TV | Mad Men Monday

Salt to Taste | Jenna Cho on food

Just Listen | The Day's music writers share their playlists

Sports

Steve Fagin | The Great Outdoors

Vickie Fulkerson | High School Sports

Nick Giuliano | Fenway Frankly

Richard Cooke | Yawkey Way

Ned Griffen | High School Football

Gavin Keefe | UConn Men's Hoops

Jim O'Neill | Golf