Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.

New Ledyard council wraps up year

By Anna Isaac

Publication: The Day

Published December 13. 2013 4:00AM

Ledyard - The Town Council held its first meeting with one new member Wednesday, wrapping up the year with the official request for next year's budget and the cancellation of its next meeting, originally scheduled for Christmas day.

The councilors were sworn in last Monday, re-electing Linda Davis as their chairman.

The new slate of councilors consists of six Republicans, all re-elected - Mike France, Kevin Dombrowski, Steve Eichelberg, Fred Allyn III, John Marshall and Linda Davis - and three Democrats. Bill Saums and Mary McGrattan both kept their seats, and former Ledyard High School Principal Louis Gabordi became the only new face on the council. Longtime Democratic councilor Sharon Wadecki was the only one to lose her seat.

Eichelberg will serve as chairman of the Administration Committee, France will lead the Finance Committee, and Dombrowski will be chairman of both the Land Use/Planning/Public Works Committee and the Information Technology Committee.

Gabordi was appointed to the Information Technology Committee and will serve as the council's liaison to the Board of Education, as well as to the Ledyard Town Center Committee jointly with Dombrowski.

News by Town

Most Recent Poll
What do you think about Tuesday's weather decision to shorten the day or close schools throughout the region?
When I was a kid, we always had school and I walked barefoot in -1 degree weather.
It was a smart decision to keep the students safe.
It's an impossible decision to make based on a forecast.
In hindsight, it probably didn't make sense.
My day changed to make sure someone was home with my kids.
Number of votes: 1501

No current items found