December 8, 2019
Your Neighbors. Your News.

My Account

To make updates to your Zip06 account or requets changes to your newspaper delivery, please choose an option below.

Welcome to!

If you have an account, please login! If you don't have an account, you can create one.



A Zip06 account will allow you to post to the online calendar, contribute to News From You, and interact with the Zip06 community. It's free to sign-up!

Click here to get started!

Register for Zip06

We're happy you've decided to join the Zip06 community. Please fill out this short registration form to begin sharing content with your neighbors.

You must enter your first name.
You must enter your last name.
You must enter a username
You must enter a valid email address
Show password
You must enter a valid zip code

Submit to Zip06

Forget Your Password?

We can help! Enter the email address registered to your account below to have your password emailed to you.

Submit an Announcement

Clinton Race Takes Shape as Parties Announce Slates

Published July 18, 2019 • Last Updated 01:55 p.m., July 23, 2019

Email This Story

Fill out the form below to email this story to a friend


On July 16, the Republican and Democratic town committees announced their respective slates for the upcoming municipal election. The slates are led by the candidates for Clinton’s inaugural Town Council.

In November, a town manager will take over most of the duties presently handled by the first selectman. That manager will be hired by the Town Council, which will replace the Board of Selectmen (BOS).

While these are the endorsed candidates, there is still time for someone to force a primary election within one of the parties.

“Anyone in a major party can petition to primary, they would get the petition forms from their prospective registrar of voters and those in a minor party would get the forms from the Secretary of the State’s Office,” Town Clerk Sharon Urricchio said. “I haven’t heard of any lately, but they have until Aug. 7 to turn in a petition to primary.”

In the 2017 municipal elections there were primaries in both parties; the Republican challengers were successful while the Democratic ones were not.

Democratic Candidates

The Democratic Town Committee (DTC)endorsed Christine Goupil, Jack Scherban, Tim Guerra, and Dara Onofrio for the Town Council positions. Goupil is the first selectmen, while Scherban and Guerra are current members of the BOS.Onofrio is the chairman of the Board of Finance, which will be eliminated under the new charter.

“We are proud to present a strong slate of qualified and experienced professionals to continue to lead this amazing community,” said DTC Chair Andrea Reu.

For the Board of Education, the DTC nominated Jason Adler and Chris Passante.

Peter Niles was the lone nominee for the Board of Police Commissioners.

The Planning & Zoning Commission race will feature endorsed candidates Alan Kravitz and Martin Jaffe for the full seats and Will Benoit for the alternate seat.

For Zoning Board of Appeals, the DTC endorsed Laurie Jaffe For an alternate seat on the Zoning Board of Appeals, the DTC endorsed Maureen Noonan.

On the Board of Assessment Appeals, the DTC will run Donald Hansen for a full seat and Alyson Roberts for an alternate seat.

Michael Valenti was the DTC nominee for treasurer.

Republican Candidates

The Republican Town Committee (RTC) endorsed Carol Walter, Dennis Donovan, Chris Aniskovich, and Mark Richards for the town council positions. Walter is a current selectman, Aniskovich is a member of the Planning & Zoning Commission, Richards is the chairman of the Zoning Board of Appeals, and Donovan is a member of the Town Manager Search Committee.

RTC Chairman James Staunton said he’s heard the group of Republican Town Council candidates called “the Dream Team” and added “this dedicated group of leaders have been serving the Clinton community as volunteers for almost 100 years, cumulatively. The credentials for each will be available in the coming weeks.”

While much of the attention will be paid to those seeking the highest board, the RTC also has several other candidates seeking various seats in the town government.

For the Board of Education, the RTC nominated Catherine Staunton and Dylan Walter for full seats.

Ona Nejdl was nominated for a full seat on the Board of Assessment Appeals, while James Staunton was nominated for an alternate seat. Staunton is also running for an alternate seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission.

The Planning & Zoning Commission Republican candidates for a full seat include Adam Moore, Eddie Alberino, and Dylan Walter.

Former first selectman Bruce Farmer was nominated along with Lou Russo for the Board of Police Commissioners.

Rounding out the slate were the nominees for the Zoning Board of Appeals: George Doerrer, Drew Richards, and Dylan Walter.

Editor's note: This story was updated to include Laurie Jaffe as a candidate for Zoning Board of Appeals.

Reader Comments